The addict and the roommate…

The best way to help an addict achieve obsession of the mind is to ignore their attempts at civility (which are hard to come by when you live in an addict’s world). The addict, who would be me in this case, then proceeds to think of all of the tiny little things that you have done that were obviously done just to take advantage of the addict’s generosity. The addict now realizes that you are out to get her and are trying to be flip with her. She thinks of  all the passive aggressive things she can do to make your life miserable (and there is a frightening amount of  these things…), and plots her revenge. She lets the hamster wheel of obsession spin out control. She realizes how miserable and sorry her life is. She wallows in self-pity. She completely forgets about reality and lives inside that miserable fucking hamster wheel inside her small, addicted brain.

Luckily, the addict has sometimes gone to rehab, AA, therapy, has a support system, or has just finally gotten so damn sick of the bastard wheel and its effects on her life that she can make a decision to reach outside and write about it, call a friend, go to a meeting, etc. Thus this post.

I can be the world’s biggest asshole, but I do really just want to be able to eat on clean dishes, have pots and pans to cook in, and not have to feel like I am micro-managing my world. That being said, I still let the obsession win, just a little bit, and I posted a dirty dishes photo on The Facebooks, and I took 2 dishes, 2 spoons, 2 forks, 2 glasses, a cooking pan, a bowl, a butter knife, and a large cooking spoon into my room.

Here’s how gross our kitchen has gotten:

I don’t think it’s too much to ask that this NOT happen.

Now I’ll get outside, keep my little stash of dishes in my room, stop obsessing, and hope for improvement in the domestic habits of my roommate.

“Just cause you got the monkey off your back doesn’t mean the circus has left town.” – George Carlin

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

