An unwelcome intrusion from the past

Despite all of my best efforts to not be found, my ex-husband found me on The Facebooks. I have to admit that my first reaction was fear. I have remained “hidden within plain sight” for a really long time, and this was an unpleasant surprise. I feel much better about it today, with a day to think about it. I even sent back a message asking what he wanted. Now, I’m just kind of incredulous. I have a  feeling that he does not remember being manipulative, abusive, and an all around fuck-up. He must actually have good memories of that time, while I cannot honestly think of even one.

By the end of that marriage, I was convinced that if I did not get out, one of us would be dead soon, and I knew for sure that I wasn’t going to let it be me. It would seem that The Fuck-Up didn’t feel the same. I was also convinced that if he bought a gun, I had to leave even sooner than I was planning, because he had a habit of hiding phone cords, keys, and other things when the fighting started.

Jump to today: “I hope you and your family are doing well. Call me if you want to.” Except that there were grammar and spelling errors in his actual message. Soooo, I was really tempted to write back what I really want to say, but I have finally learned that it will bring me no peace. In fact, it would torment me and I would sleep very little, obsessing over the possible effects, wondering what to expect next, etc. In my actual response I asked why he wanted to be in contact, what he would get out of us being in contact, and told him that I am married and happy. I then immediately edited my security and privacy setting on The Facebooks. I’m still not even sure how he was able to message me.

I don’t know what the conclusion is, if there’s a lesson here. I hope to disappear into the interwebs again, and not be found. All right, off to Google myself.

 

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An unwelcome intrusion from the past

  1. Whoa! I hope you are alright Stacy!

  2. Sally says:

    Thanks for the support. I’m doing fine. The years of therapy are paying off!

Leave a Reply

