New friends and old places.

I met a new friend through a  coworker today and we walked up Cerro San Cristobal. That was interesting because there are a SHIT TON of cyclists going up, and we are all in the road. Then there are the fighting stray dogs, AND there are free exercise classes in a couple of spots. I’m already planning on running the hill next week, and possibly doing an exercise class afterwards.

So New Friend has a car. I will do my best not to beg her to drive me to the Andes, but it’s gonna be hard. She drove us to a market where there were NO gringos, and the prices were stunning. It was fun being there, too. Tons and tons of ripe avocados, fresh-looking oranges, grapefruit, cilantro, squashes….I’m glad I had the chance to go with her; now I can take it on by myself.

Right now I’m sitting here, trying to cook chorizo on a burner that doesn’t even allow me to boil water, waiting to eat my microwave-cooked rice, and the most delectable avocado, ever! (Ever, so far.) One more week in this place and then I can eat real food that does not take a full hour of cooking. Wheee!

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations, Füd, Feel the Burn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

