The latest disturbing news disturbs me.

The whole hullabaloo around Dylan Farrow and Woody Allen is sticking in my craw. I think the biggest fact that a lot of the Farrow family detractors are forgetting is that abused children generally don’t lie about it.

I haven’t watched a Woody Allen film since maybe college, because even then, I thought he was creepy. Now, I simply won’t give my money to someone who I find creepy and who I believe is a child molester.

Then there’s Philip Seymour Hoffman. So many people are fighting exactly what I’m fighting, and no amount of fame, money, family, connections, etc., can stop addiction from sitting on your shoulder whispering its lies into your ear. Relapse is always so real, made more so when I hear about other people dying from it.

He’s not just another celebrity/junkie who died from an overdose. He was a human being with parents, siblings, and loved ones. He was just like all of us. He didn’t fail. His disease won, in the end.

 

Word of the Day:   strug·gle (dictionary.com)

verb (used without object), strug·gled, strug·gling.

1 to contend with an adversary or opposing force.

2. to contend resolutely with a task, problem, etc.; strive: to struggle for existence.

3. to advance with violent effort: to struggle through the snow.

6. to make (one’s way) with violent effort.

8. a war, fight, conflict, or contest of any kind.

9.a task or goal requiring much effort to accomplish or achieve.

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations, The Crazy, Then there was The Word, and The Word was good.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

