Paranoid or hyper aware?

I’m scared about COVID19. I’m afraid of getting it and I’m afraid of unknowingly giving it. I still do stuff and have some managed contact with people, but from listening to the experts, I think this winter is going to be really bad. What I’m doing to manage it is, with Lumpy, planning on getting a freezer for the basement so that we can go to the grocery store even less, getting really short haircuts so I don’t have to go back for 6 months at a time, still staying away from people I know and love. My closest friends and I have had no real contact since March. The friend I see the most has been 2-3 feet away at the closest, and that was outside. I get massage outside in a screen tent, masked with a quadruple layer (double layer mask plus folded over coffee filter).  I’m in the chiropractors office 20 minutes, and we’re masked and sanitized. I recently donated plasma and will do so again, but only because everyone I was within 6 feet of had face shields on, and I hand sanitized so much that I wonder if I had any bacteria at all left on my hands. By the way, I’m getting $70 for my first five donations. Help save the world and get money. Yes.

My point is that I know a lot of folks think I’m hyper cautious. I just keep returning to the thought that perhaps I am, but I will be alive when this is over. As Lumpy says, quoting Stephen King, “Perfect paranoia is perfect awareness.”

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations, The Plague Diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment