Still thriving.

Unlike extreme extroverts, I am an extrovert who does well for a while, then I absolutely must be away from people. It turns out, as all the memes about Gen X are saying, I was 100% prepared for staying away from people and doing stuff at home. (So funny, as I was writing this, my supervisor from the orchestra called to check in and we talked about this exact same thing.)

I definitely cycle, but overall, I feel great, my needs are being met, and I’m not totally isolated. Somehow all my pants are shrinking, but that’s okay, too. I actually feel safer than a lot of people because now, people are out of my personal space and not touching me. I have no interaction with old white men, really, and that was a root cause of anxiety and stress for me.

A  day for me entails this: I watch t.v. and movies, I study German, I text friends when I feel lonely, I read (too much on the internet, but it’s fine!), I occasionally clean, and I meet with a couple of German classmates for speaking practice. I was down to one student before all this, and we only meet twice a week for an hour now, so I get a little more contact and connection that way.

I miss the gym pretty badly, because I have some very concrete goals I am trying to reach, but, I don’t miss some of the people at the gym, so even that balances out. I just need a couple more dumbbells (which have all been wiped out everywhere online!) and I could do most of what I need to here. I’m doing Puppercise with Ripley! and posting photos for my own entertainment, mostly, and to keep my mental game strong, I have a notebook called The Funny, in which I write down things I could possibly use to do an open mic night sometime in the future.

A  few Pandemic takeaways:

People suck, until they don’t, then they suck again.

People-you can’t live with ’em and you can’t take ’em all out with a Michonne-style katana.

Dogs and people together is one of the greatest gifts of evolution, possibly second only to opposable thumbs.

Sobriety and growing up where and how I did have prepared me for a life of quarantine, as long as someone else can get the supplies. (Thanks, Lumpy!)

Capitalism the way it’s done in the U.S. is one of our biggest problems. Racism, sexism; a lot of the -isms are caused and reinforced my the way we do economics here.

 

 

About Sally

It's all about me. ALL OF IT. ABOUT ME.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and Observations, Gym Rat, The Plague Diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment